A Thousand Splendid Suns

1000-splendid-suns.jpg

A Thousand Splendid Sunsby Khaled Hosseini

If you read and loved Kite Runner like so many of us did, this has got to be your next book. Set in Afghanistan over the last thirty years, this book tells the story of two women who are thrown together by war and other tragic and devastating events. Basically, it is the story of two women trying to survive the Soviet invasion, takeover by the Taliban, and an abusive husband. I couldn’t keep myself from being drawn in to the problems of these two very different women. Although it feels like a realistic portrayal of life in Kabul during this time period, I wish there had been more positive portrayals of men in the story, as they come off very negatively.

I cried so many times while reading this story (which is a compliment from me), but thankfully was left hopeful by its final conclusion.

One Response to “A Thousand Splendid Suns”

  1. Maw Books Says:

    I thought this was one of the best books that I’ve read for a long time. So depressing but made me think about how ignorant and blessed I am. I haven’t read The Kite Runner yet and don’t know if it can live up to this one.


Leave a Reply

