The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

True Diary

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie, Art by Ellen Forney

I have to say that this is my favorite book so far this year! It’s the story of how Junior decides to go to the “White” high school off the indian reservation and how this affects his life and his relationships. I know this may sound serious, but the book it totally told from a funny and sarcastic perspective. There are tons of pencil drawing included, because Junior (known as Arnold at the white school) loves to draw cartoons.

What I especially liked about this book was I got some insight into what it’s like to live on a reservation, but the book wasn’t preachy or anything. I immediately went and looked for more books by Alexie, and was jazzed to find three more in our library. I have one at home now!

This book is on order for our library.

One Response to “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian”

  1. Maw Books Says:

    I just read this book within the past few weeks and enjoyed it. I believe it is Alexie’s first YA book. It was funny and also insightful. I liked the message: you can rise above your means, just be brave, and do it!f


Leave a Reply

