Emako Blue

Emako Blue by Brenda Woods

(This is our first STUDENT-WRITTEN book review. Go Markia!)

Emako Blue is one of the best books ever. It made me laugh and cry. It is available at the Armijo High School library so anyone can pick it up easily.

We all know that Los Angeles has a history of gang violence. This story is about one event between the Crips and the Bloods, two of the most well-known gangs in South Central Los Angeles.

Emako Blue is a teenage girl who was killed in a drive-by shooting in front of her house. The story focuses on love, friendship and the dangers of gangs. In the novel, Emako has a talent for both singing and making friends, but when the terrible shooting occurs, her family and friends experience a pain and lost from which they can never fully recover.

The author, Brenda Woods, thought of this idea after talking to some people who had lost loved ones to gang violence. She wanted young teens to realize the consequence of gang violence for themselves and for the people around them. This story was very interesting because it portrayed real-life situations and feelings. It is definitely worth checking out and it will leave the reader thinking about life.

Markia class of ’11

Update October 2008–We have lots of copies of this great book here at BHS!

6 Responses to “Emako Blue”

  1. Jessica Says:

    I love this book one of my favorite books

  2. nichole Says:

    this book was the best book I ever read.

  3. keosha Says:

    I love this book; I used to be in the life of gangs, smoking and drinking, but my brother died in a terrible shooting. I knew from that day foward I wasn’t living the right life; Emako remindes me of myself because i love to sing and as well as I see it others tend to notice that I’m a loyal friend! I would suggest this book to anyone .

  4. Kila (Ke-la) Says:

    I love this book. It is a must read book. This book had so many emotions coming out of it.

  5. KiKi Says:

    I really loved the book Emako Blue it really made me think twice about gangs and also thinking about the love for ones family and friends!!

    • Victor Ibarra Says:

      cool book


Leave a Reply

