Little Brother

little-brother

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

This is truly one of the best books I’ve read this year!  It’s set in the near future when some terrorist group (no one knows which one) has bombed the Bay Bridge between Oakland and San Francisco.  The Department of Homeland Security has gone completely nuts, and Marcus and his three best friends are thrown into prison on Treasure Island and interrogated for four days, until three of them are released.  What they discover is that San Francisco has turned into a police state, with ordinary people treated like potential terrorists in a ” guilty until proven innocent” mentality.

But Marcus is no ordinary seventeen year old; he is a total computer geek, and decides to fight back, at first just to rescue is best friend Darryl form the prison the others were released from.  He fights for personal liberty and freedom, but the fast-pace of the story’s action doesn’t allow the author to get all preachy on you, even though these are some pretty serious issues.  For fans of books like The Giver, The Handmaid’s Tale, 1984 and Brave New World, this book is a must read.

Advertisements

6 Responses to “Little Brother”

  1. Brain Jack by Brian Falkner « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] story, being somewhat of a computer geek myself.  It is perfect for fans of Cory Doctorow’s Little Brother, Laurie Halse Anderson’s Feed and any of William Gibson’s titles. On the PopPressed […]

  2. Ever heard of Cyber Punk? William Gibson @ Moe’s Books! « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] are The Matix, A Scanner Darkly and the recent Surrogates.  This is a great genre for fans of Cory Doctorow and Orson Scott Card and all science fiction fans […]

  3. Tomorrow When the War Began « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] and fast read, maybe perfect for that last minute book project!  I highly recommend it to fans of Little Brother, Hunger Games, and Margaret […]

  4. For the Win « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] can’t recommend this book highly enough.  Be sure to check out Cory’s other book Little Brother, set in the Bay Area. Posted in Guy's Choice, adventure, science fiction, suspense. Leave a […]

  5. Author Readings, Week of May 17-23 « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] our announcement which includes a short summary of For the Win.  Our review of Little […]

  6. Ms. G-E Says:

    When I read this book I was intrigued by the details about electronic surveillance. Having your online activities monitored can be frightening in terms of losing your privacy! I liked the characters and how determined they were to defeat the people threatening their liberty.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: