Sold

Sold

Sold by Patricia McCormack

Nominee for the California Young Reader medal: 2008-09

In a story that could have come from current news headlines, 13 year old Lakshmi leaves her isolated village high in the mountains of Nepal for what she thinks is a job as a maid in a big city. When she arrives she learns her stepfather has sold her to people who force her into a life as a prostitute. When she resists, even through beatings and starvation, she is finally drugged to break her will. Even though she suffers humiliation and physical pain, she holds onto a hope of returning home. How Lakshmi tries to maintain her hope of escaping a life of degradation provides a gripping story.

Written by Ms. Goldstein-Erickson

Advertisements

One Response to “Sold”

  1. The Little Princes by Conner Grennan « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] this book, although it could have been about a third shorter.  I recommend to readers who liked Sold, A Long Way Gone, and modern stories about families making their way in war torn […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: