Lovely Bones

Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

If you haven’t read this book yet, all I can say is that you must read it this year.  The movie based on it is opening today, and has gotten mixed reviews but the book is just wonderful.  It tells the story of Susie Salmon and starts like this: “My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie. I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973. My murderer was a man from our neighborhood. My mother liked his border flowers, and my father talked to him once about fertilizer.”  Fourteen-year-old Susie is narrating the story herself from heaven.  She watches as her family and friends, and even her murderer, deal with her tragic death and change over the next ten years.

Although this book sounds rather somber, Susie’s sense of hum0r, her own struggle adapting to the afterlife, and the injustice of her death will keep you interested until the last page.

Here is a link to the movie review from today’s San Francisco Chronicle.  From what I’ve read, the director decided to exclude certain events from the movie, which in my opinion, changes the story somewhat.  If you’ve read the book and seen the movie, add a comment to the blog telling how you think they compare.

Leave a Reply

«

»
