Beautiful Creatures

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

When Ethan Wate hears there is a new girl at Jackson High, he can hardly believe it.  Nothing EVER happens in Gatlin, South Carolina.  When she turns out to be the niece of the notoriously reclusive Old Man Ravenwood, the only thing that makes it worse is that she is the girl Ethan has been seeing in his dreams since he mother died in a car accident a few months back.  Lena Duchannes is different from any girl Jackson High has ever seen, and most of the students make it clear from Day 1 that she is not welcome there.  Not Ethan, though.  He eventually finds out that Lena is a castor, with special powers she doesn’t understand yet.  Her family has a Civil War era curse hanging over its head, and on her sixteenth birthday (only a few months from now) she will be “claimed” as a light or dark castor.  Unfortunately, by the time he finds all this out, Ethan is completely falling for Lena, and it looks like she might feel the same way about him.

This Southern Gothic novel is a true page-turner.  Once you get involved with the folks in Gatlin, you won’t be able to put it down.  As Ethan says in the first chapter:

There was a curse.

There was a girl.

And in the end, there was a grave.

I never even saw it coming.

Here is a very cool video book trailer you can see from home:

The book also has an awesome website with lots of links @ Beautiful Creatures.

These two amazing writers and coming to visit Berkeley HS on February 25.  See Ms. Provence if you want in on this special event!

Advertisements

4 Responses to “Beautiful Creatures”

  1. Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] Garcia and Stohl will not disappoint readers who loved their debut novel Beautiful Creatures.  This second title in the series is jam packed with action, picking up at Mason Melchizedek […]

  2. Paranormal Romances – Moving Beyond Bella and Edward « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] In a small South Carolina town, where it seems little has changed since the Civil War, sixteen-year-old Ethan is powerfully drawn to Lena, a new classmate with whom he shares a psychic connection and whose family hides a dark secret that may be revealed on her sixteenth birthday.  Click here for our review […]

  3. Fallen « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] I would recommend this for fans of Shiver, Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments trilogy, and Beautiful Creatures. […]

  4. YALSA’s 2010 Teens’ Top Ten Reading Selections « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] Garcia, Kami and Margaret Stohl. Beautiful Creatures. Lena isn’t like the other girls in Gatlin, South Carolina. She’s as different from them as a person can get. She is a Caster. Ethan wants to be different. He hates life in Gatlin. So when he runs into Lena, almost literally, something just clicks. Can an ancient curse, a shut-in uncle, and certain doom keep them apart?  My review. […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: