City of Bones

City of  Bones by Cassandra Clare

Clary never suspected she was anyone special, just a normal fifteen year old living with her artist mother in Brooklyn.  When she witnesses a murder in a local nightclub, her simple life is gone forever, leaving her more questions about herself than answers.

What she knows:

The murders she saw in the nightclub were teenagers like her, but covered with strange tatoos and markings.

No one else, even her best friend Simon, can see these three exotic looking people.

The victim disappears immediately after his murder.

She quickly discovers that Alec, Isabelle and Jace are Shadowhunters, a race of paranormal warriors whose job it is to keep Earth free of demons and safe for humans, or mundanes as they call the rest of us.  When a demon attacks Clary at her house and her mother disappears, these three seem to be the only ones who can help her, even though they sometimes get on her last nerves.  Jace, with his angelic good looks, is arrogant and loves to pick a good fight.  Isabelle sometimes seems more concerned with how she looks than taking care of business.  And her brother Alec acts like he resents Clary, and has  secrets of his own that he’s hiding.

I loved this fast-paced story!  It moves from one plot twist to another, and kept me up late at night to finish the story.  Much to my dissapointment, it was the first in a series, but we own all three books so once I got over myself, I quickly grabbed the next installment.  I’ve read the first three and was not let down at all.  The fourth and last book, City of Fallen Angels, comes out in March of 2011.  But don’t worry, if you can’t get enough of the shadowhunters, Clare has a prequel series coming out in the fall.  The first one is called The Clockwork Angel and will be out Sept. 7.

Here’s a link to her website if you want more info.

Advertisements

4 Responses to “City of Bones”

  1. Clockwork Angel « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] this title for all science fiction and fanstasy fans, especially readers who were enthralled by The City of Bones, City of Ashes and City of Glass. Posted in adventure, fantasy, horror, science fiction, vampires. Leave a Comment […]

  2. Paranormal Romances – Moving Beyond Bella and Edward « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] Suddenly able to see demons and the Darkhunters who are dedicated to returning them to their own dimension, fifteen-year-old Clary Fray is drawn into this bizzare world when her mother disappears and Clary herself is almost killed by a monster. Click here for our review […]

  3. Fallen « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] would recommend this for fans of Shiver, Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments trilogy, and Beautiful […]

  4. YALSA’s 2010 Teens’ Top Ten Reading Selections « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] Clare, Cassandra. City of Glass. Clary must dig deep within herself to complete the journey into the unfamiliar in the name of family and love. Clary goes to the City of Glass to try to save her mother — even though it may mean her own death.  My review. […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: