Dystopia Read-A-Like List

At Berkeley High School, we are HUGE dystopia fans.  This often starts out with Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale as a class assignment, then we get readers coming in who want something similar to that one.  Here’s a list of all dystopian novels we have in our collection.  I’m saving apocalyptic and post-apocalyptic novels (like Hunger Games and House of the Scorpion for another list!)

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

The Big Empty by J. B. Stephens

The Giver, Gathering Blue and The Messenger by Lois Lowry

We by Yevgeny Ivanovich Zamyatin

Uglies, Pretties, Specials, Extras and Bogus to Bubbly: An insider’s guide to the world of Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson

Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom by Cory Doctorow

Feed by M. T. Anderson

Piano Player by Kurt Vonnegut

Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang by Kate Wilhelm

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

The Knife of Never Letting Go, The Ask and the Answer, and Monsters of  Men (0n order) by Patrick Ness

Erewhon by Samuel Butler

Woman on the Edge of  Time by Marge Piercy

Walden Two by B. F. Skinner

Advertisements

4 Responses to “Dystopia Read-A-Like List”

  1. Karin Says:

    I wanted to come back and comment again because of the fact that you liked THE PASSAGE so much. I’m about half way through and I like it fine, but it does seem like it is taking me a long time to get through it.

    • Mrs. Provence Says:

      Well, it is a pretty long book! Looking back at GoodReads, it did take me about a week because it was so long. I became immersed in their world, though, and that’s when I know I love a title.

  2. Chelle Says:

    That’s an awesome list! I’ve been wanting to read a few, especially The Handmaid’s Tale.

  3. Karin Says:

    Excellent list. Thanks so much.
    Karin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: