Not My Daughter

Not My Daughter by Barbara Delinsky

When Susan Tate finds out her seventeen-year-old daughter Lily is pregnant, she is shocked.  When Lily tells her that she got pregnant on purpose, and so did her two best friends, Susan doesn’t know where to turn.  This gripping novel tells the story of a teen pregnancy pact from the perspective of the girls’ mothers, as well as their own.  While Lily, Jessica and Mary Kate thought they were taking their own futures into their hands, they had no thought as to how it would impact their mothers, who are also best friends.  What makes this especially difficult for the small Maine town where the families live is that these are “good girls,” with great grades from good families where were planning to go to college in the fall.  Add to this the fact that Lily’s mom Susan is principal of the local high school the girls all attend, and that she herself was unmarried and pregnant at seventeen.  But wait, there’s also a fourth girl who may be involved, the daughter of one of the town’s founders and owner of the company that supports most of the local economy.

This book keep me up until the wee hours of the morning reading it.  I had to know if Susan kept her job, and if Lily’s baby would be OK.  What I especially liked about this book was that it included the mothers and their feelings in the story.  I think this would be a perfect choice for fans of Jodi Picoult and Sarah Dessen.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: