Fallen

Fallen by Lauren Kate

I promise that this addictive novel will keep you glued to your comfy chair until you finish it!  Lucinda Price has been sent to a super strict boarding school after a friend of her’s is killed is a fire where they were hanging out.  Somehow it’s her fault because she remembers nothing and survived the tragedy.  Sword & Cross boarding school is actually less than an hour away from her home, but feels like another planet.  No cell phones.  Security cameras everywhere.  Maximum security prison atmosphere.  And the students seem like misfits and were treated like dangerous criminals, too.  But one stood out to Luce, Daniel Grigori.  Besides being what Luce felt was “sublimely gorgeous,” he seemed so familiar to her, as if she’d known him from somewhere.  But he barely talks to her, and when the dark, evil shadows that have haunted her for her entire life start appearing at her new school, Luce is afraid to look to her new friends for help.

What follows is non-stop action and the slow revealing of who the other students at Sword & Cross might really be.  Kate does a good job with her characters, they are unique, each with their own quirks. The complex plot line brings the readers along for the ride, and you can’t wait to find out what happens next.  This is the first in a series, with the second title, Torment, coming out in the fall of 2010.

I would recommend this for fans of Shiver, Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments trilogy, and Beautiful Creatures.

Here’s a teen created book trailer video you can see from home.

Advertisements

2 Responses to “Fallen”

  1. Lauren Kate in da house, well, almost… « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] Kate Lauren, author of Fallen, will be at Barnes & Noble in El Cerrito Plaza this Tuesday.  See our review of Fallen HERE. […]

  2. Paranormal Romances – Moving Beyond Bella and Edward « Reading@Berkeley High Says:

    […] Suspected in the death of her boyfriend, seventeen-year-old Luce is sent to a Savannah, Georgia, reform school where she meets two intriguing boys and learns the truth about the strange shadows that have always haunted her.  Click here for our review […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: