The Vinyl Princess

The Vinyl Princess by Yvonne Prinz

When I found out this book was written by one of the co-owner/founders of Amoeba Records on College Avenue, I knew I had to give it a shot.  Believe me when I say that I was not disappointed.  This fun, light story is about Allie, who works at Bob & Bob Records on Telegraph Avenue in Berkeley, an independent record store.  She’s a complete music fanatic, able to tell customers all about an artist, a particular CD or vinyl record, who that artist played with previously, their best songs…you get where I’m going with this.  Her vinyl collection is outstanding; having first choice of all the records and acquisitions at Bob & Bob’s makes her like a kid is a candy store.  Now that it’s summer, she’s there full time, and decides to spread the vinyl love by starting a Zine and a blog called Vinyl Princess.  She’s hoping to connect with other music fans, but isn’t really sure if they’re out there.

I like this book, even though the plot was not the most sophicated one I’ve read lately.  It did carry me along, but my favorite part was hearing about the music, artists, albums and songs Allie posted and wrote about on her blog and zine.  This is a sure winner for music fans.

Leave a Reply

