Happy Valentine’s Day

I’m sending my love and hugs to all our Berkeley High School readers and our other blog followers.  Because a great book can never get enough love (or buzz), I’m including a review of my favorite book that included a romance from 2010.


The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

The book came recommended to me by a number of friends, and I’m sorry I put off reading it over Spring Break.  It is absolutely wonderful –  funny, heartfelt, first love, grief–so many emotions in one story.  Lennie’s older sister Bailey has died suddenly and unexpectedly, and Lennie is completely unable to deal with her grief.  Bailey has always been the star of the Walker sisters, outgoing and vivacious.  But Lennie has her own talents, although she tends to downplay them in favor of letting her beloved sister bask in the spotlight. After Bailey dies, Lennie’s family goes into a dark place -she, her Gram (who raised her) and her Uncle Big barely talk, and all the food Gram so lovingly prepares tastes like ashes to Lennie.  Lennie doesn’t even answer texts or calls from her  best friend Sarah.  The only person who seems to understand her overwhelming grief is Toby, Bailey’s boyfriend.  But their feelings for each other keep getting confused, making them both feel terrible guilt, but they can’t seem to stay away from each other.  In addition, the new talented musician in town, Joe, starts coming over to Lennie’s house every morning to spend time with her, Gram and Big.  She doesn’t understand why he keeps coming around, but can’t help beginning to fall for him.

This is the perfect book for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult.  I think any young woman would be drawn to the story, as the writer captures Lennie’s emotions perfectly, even down the the poetry she jots down on everything from paper coffee cups to blank sheets of music, to park benches.  Don’t miss this title!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: