Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

This is one of those books I had heard great things about from students, but just put off reading for no real reason.  Boy am I sorry now because I loved it!  The story takes place in a town so ideal that when a boy is told by his teacher that he’s “definitely gay and has a very good sense of self” when he’s in kindergarten, his mom’s reaction is that he learned a new word.  Paul is surprised that his being gay is different, and rarely faces any homophobia in his small town, although he knows it exists elsewhere.  In the story, Paul is a high school sophomore, and his school includes a cross-dressing football quarterback, cheerleaders that ride Harley Davidson motorcycles and the Gay-Straight Alliance as the most popular club.  Although he’s had boyfriend’s in the past, Paul can barely catch his breath when he meats the new kid at school, Noah. Naturally, the course of true love is never smooth, especially when Paul’s ex starts coming around again, right after he’s convinced Noah that his feelings are real.

While this book is surely a romantic comedy, Paul’s honest narration keeps the plot feeling realistic as well as honest.  I rate this 5 *’s out of 5, and recommend it to all teen readers.  Fans of Alex Sanchez, Julie Anne Peters and Ellen Wittlinger will appreciate Levithan’s LGBT-friendly world.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: