The Little Princes by Conner Grennan

The Little Prince: One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Boys of Nepal by Conner Grennan

Connor Grennan never realized how the three months he would spend at an children’s home in Nepal would change the direction of his entire life.  He just thought it looked like a way to justify traveling around the world for a year between jobs.  Little did he know that he would fall in love with the eighteen children at the Little Princes Children’s Home, and return a year later with the goal of reuniting them with their families in the faraway province of Humla.  His story is heartfelt, often humorous and sometimes tragic.  Because he kept journals during his entire time in Nepal, Grennan is able to recapture the children’s playful personalities in addition to their ability to survive basically be  stolen from their parents by a child trafficker.

I really enjoyed this book, although it could have been about a third shorter.  I recommend to readers who liked Sold, A Long Way Gone, and modern stories about families making their way in war torn countries.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: