Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

This engaging teen romance is the perfect book to read in the spring, as the pink blooms start opening on Shattuck Avenue here in Berkeley.  I found it totally fun and a perfect escape from all the “deep” realistic fiction I’ve been reading lately.  It takes place in the world’s most romantic city, Paris.  Anna’s been sent there to boarding school for her senior year by her father, who’s become rich writing “these novels set in a Small Town Georgia about folks with Good American Values who Fall in Love and then contract Life-Threatening Diseases and die.”   The last thing Anna wants to do is leave Atlanta, her best friend Bridgette and the hottie she works with at the local multiplex movie theater.  Imagine being forced to spend a year in Paris?

But then she meets Etienne St. Clair, who’s half British but raised by his mother in San Francisco.  He is smart, gorgeous and charismatic; but he has a long-time girlfriend named Ellie who attends the nearby Parsons art college.  Still, as the year goes by, the two become best friends, although Anna can’t deny the way she feels as she sits next to him in the dark cinema watching her favorite classic movies.

This book was a joy to read–light, funny and full of anticipation about what would happen next between Anna and Etienne.  I woudl definitely recommend it to all teen girls looking for a fun, escapist romance.  Fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti will not be disappointed.

By the way, you can search the subject heading Love Stories to find over 100 teen romances in our online catalog.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: