I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter

Cammie, a sophomore at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, narrates this story of her adventures at school, which secretly trains girls to be spies.  The outside world, including the local town of Roseville, Virginia, believes the girls are all rich and spoiled snobs. As part of their training, they learn multiple languages, intensive world history, cultures, assimilation techniques and covert operations. On a practice operation in town, Cammie realizes a local boy sees her, even though she’s known as Cammie the Chameleon because of her skill at hiding in plain sight. When he starts paying attention to her, Cammie struggles between building a relationship with him and concealing her true identity. I loved the way Ally Carter made this story funny and seem like it could almost be true. This title is the first of five in the series, and I can’t wait to read the rest of them!

Reviewed by Ms. Goldstein-Erickson

Leave a Reply

