MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood


MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood

This title concludes the story that Atwood started in Oryx and Crake and continued in The Year of the Flood.  Now Toby, formerly Eve 6 and tender of the bee hives,  is our narrator into the wasteland that used to be planet Earth.  Crake’s bioengineered simplistic species, known now as the Crakers, survived the worldwide plague, along with a few of the former God’s Gardeners.  The book slowly explains through flashbacks and Toby’s storytelling to the Crakers what has happened to the world and how they (the humans and Crakers) fit into it.

I must admit that I didn’t find this volume as compelling as the first two.  At the same time, it was a logical and  intriguing conclusion the the post- apocalyptic  tale Atwood began in Oryx and Crake.  Although this title wasn’t as plot driven as the first two, it is a definite read for fans of the series.  I highly recommend the entire series to dystopia fans, Atwood readers, and readers who appreciate thoughtful explorations of genetic engineering, religion and society, and  humans as caretakers of the planet.

oryx     year of the flood     handmaid


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: