l’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

i'll give you

l’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Nelson’s newest novel is the perfect fit for fans of John Green, Jay Asher and A.S. King.  She deftly weaves the story of two fraternal twins, Jude and Noah, from ages thirteen to sixteen.  The tale is told from both their perspectives, and although they were closer than anything when they were young, they are hitting puberty hard. Jude has decided her mother has no good advice for her after being warned one too many times about not becoming “that girl,” as her skirts get shorter and she starts doing more than just surfing with the hot Zepher.  Noah is falling “in Like” with their new neighbor Brian, bringing up all kinds of feelings for both boys.  The story is told in the twins’ alternating perspectives, but there are parts of their lives that even they don’t know about, which are slowly revealed as the book goes on.

I loved this book and think it would be a great read for any teenager.  Nelson captures the twins voices and emotions so they feel like real people before the reader is even half-way through the book.  This book deals with topics all teen can identify with, including sexuality, grief and family problems.

SkyIsEverywhere small

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: