I Was Here by Gayle Forman

i was here

I Was Here by Gayle Forman

Regular blog readers know that I’m a huge Gayle Forman fan.  I love that she writes realistic characters and gives them enough personality so they come alive in the reader’s mind.  I love that she puts them in difficult situations without easy answers.  This latest title is another winner.  Cody is a college freshman at the local community college (imagine BCC) and her best friend Meg is at local Washington university on a full scholarship.  Naturally, they’ve grown apart but Cody is shocked and devastated when Meg takes her own life by drinking a poisonous cleaning fluid in a motel room.  She can’t imagine that Meg could have been that sad and when she goes to the college at Meg’s parents’ request, she begins her own investigation in to what really might have happened.  She meets up with a punk musician named Ben, who recently dumped Meg, but he doesn’t seem to be the reason behind Meg’s suicide.  Long-buried secrets begin to surface as Cody and Ben start going through Meg’s computer and finding hidden files and and new friends who may have been involved with Meg.

So, this mystery will grip readers from the first page, on which is printed Meg’s suicide email to Cody. I finished this book in two day because I could not put it down.  I highly recommend to to readers who like Gayle Forman, Jay Asher (Thirteen Reasons Why) and Ellen Hopkins (Crank).

just one year          if i stay          where she went

Click book covers to see our reviews.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: