Lies My Girlfriend Told Me by Julie Anne Peters

lies my girlfriend

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me by Julie Anne Peters

This unusual book begins with the death of Alix’s girlfriend Swanee from a sudden cardiac arrest.  While Alix is devastated, she quickly discovers that she is not the only girlfriend Swanee left behind.  There’s a text on Swanee’s phone from a mysterious L.T., saying  “Please tell me what I did. Please, Swan. Te amo. I love you.”  As Alix slowly starts unraveling Swan’s double life, she meet the other girlfriend, Liana, and they begin a tentative friendship while bonding over Swanee’s death.

I liked this book, especially because it didn’t make the fact that the girls were gay the major theme.  It’s great when authors can explore LGBT characters without making it a typical “coming out” story.  Peters’ writing is honest and realistic; readers will feel like these are girls that could be in their own classes at school.  Readers will appreciate how the three sets of parents react to their daughters, which is anything but stereotypical.   I think fans of Julie Anne Peters and anyone looking for a complex romance story will enjoy this title.

define normal          she loves          by the time you read this

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

geography of you and me

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

This sweet love story might be the perfect antidote for a reader tired of their usual, favorite genre reading.  Teenagers Lucy and Owen meet when they’re locked in an elevator in the New York City building where they both live during a power outage.  They’re rescued rather quickly, but spend the evening together talking on the roof of the building (a tar beach) and star gazing.  Almost immediately after that romantic evening under the stars, their families move in opposite directions– taking Lucy to Edinburgh, Scotland and Owen “out west” on on extended road trip.  The teens try to overcome their “Geography” using postcards and emails, but begin to wonder if one night can really create a relationship. In addition the the romance, writer Smith brings up issues of parental responsibility and the value of the family, in different ways for both Owen and Lucy.

I enjoyed this title and finished it quickly.  It’s refreshing to read something light after all the angsty YA books and depressing dystopias.I would recommend this to readers who enjoy contemporary romance and readers who like Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han’s books.

 

statistical

Click book cover for our review!

 

 

 

If I Stay – movie

I saw this movie last weekend and really want to recommend it to our readers.  The movie makers did a good j0b sticking to the story, and the acting was actually decent.  It made me want to go back and read the second book, Where She Went, which picks up the story three years later.  I got my copy from one of the local libraries, and kids have told me they found it through the online usual online sources, Netflix, etc.  Click on either title below for our reviews.

if i stay          where she went

The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen

false prince

The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen

This fast-paced mystery will leave readers breathless as they follow the exploits of the orphan Sage in the kingdom of  Carthya.  The royal family has been poisoned, but the news has been keep secret for fear of a power-grabbing civil war.  One of the king’s court has his own plan, however.  The nobleman Conor selects four orphans to train as the missing prince, planning to select the best one to become his pawn after he helps the boy takes over leadership of the country.  While it may sound simple and straight-forward, progress towards that goal is anything but.  Readers meet all the competing orphans, but are told the story from Sage’s perspective as the most deserving, despite his sharp tongue and argumentative behavior.  Sage is pretty sure that Conner’s motives are suspect at best, but fears Conner will kill the two boys who don’t win, like he did the fourth boy at the very beginning of the story.

As regular readers here know, fantasy is not my favorite genre but this book captured my attention from the beginning.  Sage has the type of personality that makes it easy to identify with because he says and does what most of us keep ourselves from doing; it’s as if he has no filter between his thoughts and his tongue at all.  I think readers will find it hard to put this book down, especially as it gets closer to the climax.  As seems to be the trend in recent years, it is the first in a trilogy, but we already have the second title on hand in our library.  I would recommend this to readers who like adventure, mysteries, suspense and fantasy.

runaway king

 

 

White Queen by Philippa Gregory

white queen

White Queen by Philippa Gregory

Gregory is known as queen of historical fiction about the Tudor dynasty, but in this series she takes up the Plantagenets in the middle of the War of the Roses.  Our White queen is the beautiful and ambitious Elizabeth Woodville Grey, who has recently been widowed when her husband was fighting again the current King of England.  Despite her family’s Lancaster loyalties, she stands in the road the that same king passes through her country town, hoping to get her husband’s lands back from one of the king’s cohorts.  Imagine her luck when the handsome young king falls for her beauty and begins to secretly woo her!  As Elizabeth rises to power at the side of her king, her ambition eclipses everything else.  She wants her entire family to benefit from her position, and is not hesitant to give them land, titles and marriages that help the crown as well as the individual.

This book is an enjoyable journey into the behind-the-scenes plotting and machinations of the British royalty.  While I found Elizabeth’s voice to be somewhat stilted, it did not stop me from devouring the book, hoping that she and her family would prevail over their many enemies.  I highly recommend this to fans of historical fiction, regular readers of Philippa Gregory and students who enjoyed the movie The Other Boleyn Girl, whose original book was also written by Gregory.

other boleyn

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

blue lily

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Good news and bad news.  This third book in the Raven cycle will not disappoint.  Blue is still looking for her missing mom, her and the boys and still searching for dead Welsh king  Glendower, and she and Gansey are still fighting their attraction to each other.  OK, that’s what readers signed up for.  The bad news is that this isn’t the last book and Stiefvater is still keeping the major mystery of the dead king under wraps.  While I adore this story, I was ready for it to conclude, so I was a little sad when I realized about two-thirds of the way through that there was no way to tie up all the story lines in this book.  I do adore the characters and am still recommending this to fans of the cycle, fantasy readers and Stiefvater fans.  Perhaps it’s just me getting tired of the never-ending series books, but I am longing for stories that begin and end in one book, even if it’s a huge, fat tome.

Click on the book covers to see our reviews of her other titles.

raven boys          dream thieves          scorpio races          shiver

 

The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle

infinite moment of us

The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle

Although they’re both graduating high school and about to start the rest of their lives, Wren Gray and Charlie Parker could not be more different.  She’s always been one to please her parents, and they think she’s on her way to Emory College to join the pre-med program.  In reality, she volunteered for Project Unity in Guatemala, a year-long service project.  Charlie, on the other hand, is over the moon to be accepted to a local technical college in Atlanta.  He’s lived in a number of foster homes since being rescued from his addict birth mother, but has had a crush on Wren since the first time he saw her.  When this unlikely pair finally wind up together in the hospital emergency room where Wren volunteers, they can both feel the sparks and begin to fall completely, and madly in love with each other.

I am always a sucker for a good love story and this was no exception.  Myracle’s writing is straight-forward, and emerges readers in both characters’ points of view using alternating perspectives.  I would recommend this to fans of romance, readers who enjoy teen stories about first love, and fans of authors like Deb Caletti and Simone Elkeles.

shine          bliss

Click on book covers to see our reviews.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers